Sour Cream Coffee Cake

8 Mar

This recipe actually comes from my “archive” collection so I don’t have too many pictures. Any recipe from my “archives” are from when I first started baking! This coffee cake was the first thing that tasted AND looked amazing! I was so proud of myself :-) It’s something that I can automatically turn to for events or family get-togethers.

Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Now that I’ve made this quite a few times I think I’m ready to make a minor change to the recipe. I read that you can substitute yogurt with sour cream and I’d like to experiment with that sometime. I really don’t like how much sour cream is used in this recipe, and I don’t really like how I can taste the sour cream. I read that I could use lemon yogurt or yogurt with lemon (not sure which) instead which will be lighter and will probably make it taste a little bit better too.

Once I get a chance to experiment with it I’ll take more pictures and post my review!

Sour Cream Coffee Cake

As far as my review on the current recipe, it’s still a great coffee cake and I’ll keep making it for events and the like. The recipe was so easy to follow for a beginning baker and I was amazed at how it turned out so beautifully! The sour cream really made this a moist cake and adding all the extracts brought out some great flavor.

Ingredients:

1 cup butter, softened

1-1/2 cups sugar

3 eggs

1 teaspoon each almond, lemon and vanilla extract

2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup (8 ounces) sour cream
Filling:

1/3 cup chopped pecans

3 tablespoons sugar

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
Glaze:

1 cup confectioners’ sugar

2 tablespoons milk

Directions:

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in extracts. Combine the flour, baking powder and baking soda; add to creamed mixture alternately with sour cream.

Spread half of the batter in a greased and floured 10-in. fluted tube pan. Make a well in the center of the batter. Combine filling ingredients; sprinkle into well. Carefully cover with remaining batter.

Bake at 350° for 45-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan to a wire rack. Combine glaze ingredients; drizzle over warm cake. Yield: 16 servings.

TasteofHome.com

http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Sour-Cream-Coffee-Cake-2

Print this post

2 Responses to “Sour Cream Coffee Cake”

  1. sara November 29, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    This looks like a great cake! Love the idea of combining almond, lemon, and vanilla, yum. I often will substitute yogurt for sour cream in baking…I recommend using Greek yogurt – the thicker consistency is more like sour cream – and definitely use plain yogurt so you’re not adding a lot of sugar to the recipe.

    • aveena November 29, 2011 at 9:56 am #

      Thank you, Sara! I have heard about the yogurt thing but I was worried about the difference in taste and texture, but the Greek yogurt is a great suggestion!! I will definitely try this the next I make it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

